Is It Legal For a 14-Year-Old to Drive in Colorado?
Getting behind the wheel for any Colorado kid is a "right of passage." It comes with not only "freedom" but responsibility; are 14-year-olds in Colorado "responsible" enough?
In many states, a 14-year-olds can get a "special" license to drive; how does Colorado feel about them driving?
Every generation believes that "kids are growing up faster" than when they were kids. Technology's continued advancement adds to those thoughts. It's hard to think about a "kid" dealing with all of life's distractions while behind the wheel.
Driving when you're young is a very big deal: Instead of Mom or Dad driving you everywhere, you get to drive yourself. Instead of walking or riding your bike, you get to take "the car." But Colorado does have laws when it comes to being "too young" to drive.
DOES COLORADO HAVE A 'FARMER'S LICENSE' FOR 14-YEAR-OLDS?
Though they have tried to get a 'Farmer's License' bill passed, there is no law on the Colorado "books" that says that's OK.
A "Farmer's License" bill in 2011, which would give a very limited license to those who are 14 1/2, made it through the Colorado House of Representatives, but it was "postponed indefinitely" by the Senate.
AT WHAT AGE CAN TEENS IN COLORADO GET THEIR DRIVER'S LICENSE?
According to the Colorado Department of Transportation, if a Colorado teen wants to be able to be behind the wheel when they turn 16, they need to begin the process before they turn 15. They'll need to take a 30-hour Driver's Education course prior to applying for their permit at 15.
NEXT UP: Crazy Old Colorado Laws That Are Still Enforced Today
18 State Laws Colorado Residents Want to Get Rid Of
Gallery Credit: Wesley Adams
10 Ridiculous + Unbelievable Laws in Colorado Involving Animals
Gallery Credit: Nate Wilde